Funding news - 01/12/2017

Weston Charity Awards Open for 2018

The Garfield Weston Foundation and Pilotlight are inviting applications to their Weston Charity Awards from registered charities in the North of England, the Midlands and Wales working in the areas of youth, welfare and community.

The Garfield Weston Foundation created the Weston Charity Awards in 2014 'to celebrate and support great front-line charities working in the fields of youth, welfare and community'. Initially the awards were for the North East of England. The following year, they were extended to the North of England and then to the Midlands. Now, the 2018 awards are open to charities in Wales as well.

The Awards offer eligible charities an opportunity to plan for sustainability, development and growth through a year-long programme.

Applications will be considered from registered charities that are ambitious and working to alleviate disadvantage in the areas of youth, welfare or community.

It is expected that 20 charities will receive:

  • A fully funded year working with Pilotlight – an organisation that facilitates experienced and senior business leaders to mentor charities to help them develop and to face the future with confidence.
  • Revenue funding of £6,500 to support the charity to make the most of the Pilotlight experience and to cover travel expenses to meet with their business mentors in London.
  • Access to the advice and support of the Garfield Weston Foundation and Pilotlight for any specific needs or issues the charity might have.

Commenting on the Award, a previous winner said:

“What we needed was independent support from people who can look in from outside so they can see what we’re doing right and what we’re doing wrong.”

To be eligible, charities must have an annual income of less than £5 million, and at least one paid full-time member of staff in a leadership position.

The deadline for applications is 12 January 2018 (5pm).

Full details can be found on the Weston Charity Award website

Source: Weston Charity Awards, 01/12/2017